Once Upon a Time: Black Eyeliner

So, I’m going get a little more personal in this post.

Once upon a time, I used to wear heavy black eyeliner every day, for years. I religiously wore my eyeliner starting my freshman year of high school until I was a senior in college. So, about 10 years. And boy, did I receive some negative comments and ugly looks. Some include:

  •  “You’re emo. Go cut yourself.”
  • “Did it hurt when you got punched in the face?” (Not offensive, just way overused)

Most of the people who gave me nasty looks and rude comments were adults in their 40s and 50s. Sad, isn’t it?

On a lighter note (ah, the contrast), I also received some delicate comments.

When I was in college and working in retail, this little girl, about 4 years old, turned to her dad and said “Daddy, that right there looks like a pirate.” Little did that sweet girl know, I was (and still am, actually) obsessed with pirates.

It’s both heartwarming and heartbreaking that the nicest compliment I received was from a 4-year-old.

There was also my former co-worker and the occasional person who said I resembled Kesha. For that, I was also flattered. I love Kesha, for many reasons.

But then there was Taylor Momsen. Ah, yes, Taylor Momsen. My favorite idol.

I’ve been a fan of Momsen ever since she starred as Cindy Lou Who in the 2000 version of Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas. I grew up with Momsen. She’s only a couple of years younger than I am and she was/is in everything I was/am intoThe Grinch, Gossip Girl and, my favorite, The Pretty Reckless.

Soon after her role as Jenny Humphrey in Gossip Girl ended, she started focusing more on her music and her band. I discovered she was into heavy metal, rock, classic rock–and so on–as was I. And then…Her. Black. Eyeliner.

I was overjoyed that she, of all celebrities, painted her face the same way I did. I’d never met or knew of anyone else who did that (aside from the rock bands back in the day…) I may not know Taylor Momsen personally, but as soon as I discovered she wore heavy black eyeliner too, and the music she was into, I felt like I knew her a little better.

The only way anyone could somewhat understand is if they too, once upon a time, wore–or still do–heavy black eyeliner.

PS
My next post will be a continuation of this post. It will be about Taylor Momsen, my first time seeing The Pretty Reckless, and that same way I “paint my face.” So, please, stay tuned!

xoxo,
the woman in black

3 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time: Black Eyeliner

  1. Be who you are and enjoy it. I’m in my 50’s and would never say something so rude to anyone. I got a tattoo in my younger days (before everyone had them) and I was told by strangers that I’d regret it for the rest of my life. As long as what you do makes you happy, go for it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

